The American Advertising Federation of Montgomery

Silver Medal Award

The Silver Medal is the highest award that can be given by AAF Montgomery.

The Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 by the American Advertising Federation (AAF) to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, AAF member clubs bestow this honor upon outstanding members of the local advertising community.

The Silver Medal is the highest award that can be given by AAF Montgomery. Silver Medal recipients are selected by a panel of judges from each local club.


The Silver Medal committee chooses the recipient from the nominations based on the following criteria:

  • Contribution to their company. The recipient must have successfully led an ad agency, advertiser, media outlet or advertising service in the Montgomery area.
  • Creative ability. No matter which discipline they’re in, the recipient must have worked to raise standards in the advertising profession.
  • Contribution to the advancement of advertising. The recipient must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.
  • Contribution to the community. The recipient should be actively involved as someone who gives back to the community.

Have a nomination for 2018?
Tell us about them by sharing their accomplishments with the world–nominating them for the AAF Silver Medal Award. Download the nomination form and submit to

Deadline for submissions is January 31, 2019. If the committee chooses an honoree, the award will be presented on at ADDYs 2019.


1962 P.W. Walsh, Advertiser-Journal
1963 Bob Pearson, Capitol Outdoor Advertising
1963 Hugh Smith, WCOV Radio & TV
1964 Ed Wise, Paragon Press
1965 Bill Lynn, Lynn Advertising
1966 Jay Leavell, Leavell Advertising
1967 No Award
1968 Tommy Kimbrough, Kimbrough & Associates
1969 H.W. “Pop” Parks, Midstate Advertising
1970 Bob Villar, WSFA-TV
1971 Ed Pepperman, U.S. Brewers Association
1972 Gentry Martin, Union Bank
1973 H.O. Davis, Jeff Davis Hotel
1974 Bob Smith, Advertiser-Journal
1975 Paul Robertson, Paul Robertson Photography
1976 Bamber Cox, Winn Dixie
1977 Marvin Brokaw, First Alabama Bank
1978 Jim Young, Advertiser-Journal
1979 Bill Backvold, Advertiser-Journal
1980 No Award
1981 Harold Bearden, Brigadier Sound
1982 Margaret Carpenter, Compos-it
1983 Jay Leavell, Leavell, Wise, Turner Advertising
1984 Duncan Black, Cunningham, Black & Farley
1985 Jack Galassini, Galassini & Associates
1986 Karl Richards, WCOV-TV
1987 John Rogers, WKAB-TV
1988 Ed Morgan, Morgan Advertising
1989 Spede Bryan, Gayfers
1990 John Matthews, Creative Consultants
1991 Richard Amberg, Montgomery Advertiser
1992 Carolyn Salay, Salay Advertising
1993 James Belton, WSFA-TV
1994 Jerry Britton, Britton Advertising
1995 Bill Cunningham, Cunningham Group
1996-2004 unknown
2005-2009 No Award
2008 Lifetime Membership, James Belton
2010 Cindy Scott, LWT Communications
2011 Nell Rankin, Copperwing Design
2012 No Award
2013 Kim Traff, RSVP Magazine
2014 Joe Birdwell, Joe and Robin Do Something
2015 No Award
2016 No Award
2017 No Award
2018 No Award

2019-2020 Club Sponsors

Sponsors help AAF Montgomery with their commitment to
professional development, education and giving back
to the community. Thank you to all our sponsors!

Become A Sponsor